top of page

Philip Jones Brass Ensemble

Baroque Brass

Elgar Howarth, trumpet

Philip Jones, trumpet

Ifor James, horn

John Iveson, trombone

John Fletcher, tuba

Argo Records

ZRG 896

United Kingdom

Baroque and Renaissance Works for Brass Quintet

Speer, Daniel - Sonata from “Die Bankelsängerlieder”

Speer, Daniel - Sonata for Two Trumpets and Three Trombones

Scarlatti, Domenico - Sonata, K 380

Scarlatti, Domenico - Sonata, K 430

Scarlatti, Domenico - Sonata, K 443

Original Works for ensembles smaller or larger than Brass Quintet

Biber, Heinrich - Sonata a’ 7

Franck, Melchoir - Intrada

Hassler, Hans Leo - Intrada V

Speer, Daniel - Sonata for Trumpet and Three Trombones

Speer, Daniel - Sonata for Three Trombones

Speer, Daniel - Sonata for Four Trombones

Scheidt, Samuel - Canzona a’ 10

Bach, Johann Sebastian - Chorale “Nun Danket Alle Gott”

Bach, Johann Sebastian - Aria and Fugue in Imitation of the Postillion’s Horn

Bach, Johann Sebastian - Menuet and Courante from Cello Suite No. 1 (for solo tuba)

Bach, Carl Philipp Emanuel - March

Notes and featured or additional musicians

Additional musicians: Michael Laird, John Miller, Peter Reeves, Howard Snell, John Wallace, James Watson – trumpets; Roger Brenner, David Purser – trombones: Raymond Premru – bass trombone; David Corkhill – percussion

bottom of page