top of page
Confitebor tibi Domine
  • Confitebor tibi Domine

    SKU: BBBE171206

    The music of Giovanni Gabrieli (ca. 1555-1612) has become a staple in the repertoire for modern brass musicians/ensembles. Most are familiar with his popular collections: Sacrae Symphoniae I, published in 1597, and Sacrae Symphoniae II, published posthumously in 1615. Both of these collections include works for different sized vocal and instrumental forces. Gabriel's setting of "Confitebor tibi Domine" (C.76) comes from the 1615 collection and was scored for three vocal choirs with the following instrumentation: SATB, STTTB, ATTB."

    This edition for brass is scored for four trumpets, three horns, four trombones, euphonium and tuba. All four trumpet parts are published in Bb and C. The editor suggests an antiphonal set-up of the three brass choirs with Choir 2 in the middle, surrounded by Choirs 1 and 3 on the sides. If you have the forces and horses, this transcription is guaranteed to make a grand impression!

    • Composer

      Giovanni Gabrieli

    • Arranger

      Andrew Bishop

    • Duration

      5' 00"

    • Instrumentation

      434.11in 3 choirs
      Choir 1 is 2 Trumpets in C, Horn, Euphonium

      Choir 2 is Trumpet in C, Horn, 2 Trombones, Tuba

      Choir 3 is Trumpet in C Horn, Trombone, Bass Trombone

    • Difficulty

      Grade 4 - college / university ensemble

    • File Format

      Full score and parts in PDF available for download.

    bottom of page