top of page
Contrapunctus I
  • Contrapunctus I

    SKU: BBBQ890902

    Contrapunctus 1 from the Art of Fugue (BWV 1080) was composed in 1748 - 1749 and published after Bach's death in 1750. The Art of Fugue was composed in SATB open score format - no instruments were specified in the manuscript or in subsequent engravings which has made it very attractive and inviting to arrangers for years.


    Contrapunctus 1 is an example of simple fugue. Originally in D minor, scored here in C minor.

    • Composer

      Johann Sebastian Bach

    • Arranger

      Michael Allen

    • Duration

      3' 30"

    • Instrumentation

      211.01 Brass Quintet

      Trumpets in E flat (B flat alternate provided), Trumpet in B flat, Horn, Trombone, Tuba

    • Difficulty

      Grade 4 - college / university ensemble

    bottom of page