top of page
Four Wunderhorn Songs
  • Four Wunderhorn Songs

    SKU: BBBE181207

    The songs of Des Knaben Wunderhorn (The Boy’s Miraculous Horn) by Gustav Mahler are voice-and-piano and orchestral settings of German folk poems in a collection of the same name assembled by Achim von Arnim and Clemens Brentano and published by them, in heavily redacted form, between 1905 and 1908.


    A total of ten songs were set for soprano or baritone and orchestra and were first published by Mahler as a cycle in 1905 but in total 12 orchestral songs exist and a similar number of songs for voice and piano.


    Ths collection contains:


    • In Praise of Lofty Judgement
    • Where the Beautiful Trumpet Sounds
    • Saint Anthony of Padua's Fish Sermon
    • Primordial Light


    • Composer

      Gustav Mahler

    • Arranger

      Michael Allen

    • Duration

      20' 00"

    • Instrumentation

      423.11 timp / perc - Trumpet in E flat, Trumpet in B flat (doubles on Piccolo), Trumpet in B flat, Flugelhorn, 2 Horns, 2 Tenor Trombones, Bass Trombone, Euphonium, Tuba, Timpani, Percussion (triangle, rute, suspended cymbal, glockenspiel, bass drum, tam-tam)

    • Difficulty

      Grade 5 - advanced university ensemble / professional

    • File Format

      Full score and parts in PDF available for download.

    bottom of page