top of page
Debussy Nuages (Clouds) for large brass ensemble cover
  • Nuages (Clouds) from Three Nocturnes

    SKU: BBBE230122

    Claude Debussy's Nuages (Clouds), second movement of his Three Nocturnes, here expertly transcribed for large brass ensemble by Michael Allen.


    Debussy biographer, Léon Vallas, recounts the composer's comments regarding the genesis of this piece: "One day, in stormy weather, as Debussy was crossing the Pont de la Concorde in Paris with his friend Paul Poujaud, he told him that on a similar kind of day the idea of the symphonic work "Clouds" had occurred to him: he had visualized those very thunderclouds swept along by a stormy wind; a boat passing, with its horn sounding. These two impressions are recalled in the languorous succession of chords and by the short chromatic theme on the [euphonium]."

    • Composer

      Claude Debussy

    • Arranger

      Michael Allen

    • Duration

      6' 20"

    • Instrumentation

      444.12 perc - Piccolo Trumpet in B flat, Trumpet in E flat (C Trumpet alternate provided), Trumpet in B flat (C Trumpet alternate provided), Flugelhorn, 4 Horns, 3 Tenor Trombones, Bass Trombone, Euphonium (bass and treble clef parts provided), 2 Tubas, Timpani

    • Difficulty

      Grade 5 - advanced college/university or professional ensemble

    • File Format

      Full score and parts in PDF available for download.

    bottom of page