top of page
Prelude in G Minor, Opus 23, No. 5
  • Prelude in G Minor, Opus 23, No. 5

    SKU: BBBE210401

    Ten Preludes, Opus 23, were composed by Sergei Rachmaninoff between 1901 and 1903 for solo piano. The Prelude in C♯ minor (Opus 3/2) and the 13 Preludes (Opus 32) along with Opus 23 comprise a complete set of 24 preludes in all the major and minor keys.


    Prelude No. 5, the first of this set to be completed, was composed in 1901, the same
     year he completed his 2nd Piano Concerto. The Preludes, Opus 23 are dedicated to his cousin, Alexander Siloti, who was providing Rachmaninoff with assistance at the time.

    • Composer

      Serge Rachmaninoff

    • Arranger

      Michael Allen

    • Duration

      4' 00"

    • Instrumentation

      423.11 - Trumpet in E flat (alternate part in B flat provided), 2 Trumpets in B flat (one doubles on Flugelhorn), Flugelhorn, 2 Horns, 2 Tenor Trombones, Bass Trombone, Euphonium, Tuba

    • Difficulty

      Grade 4 - college/university ensemble

    • File Format

      Full score and parts in PDF available for download.

    bottom of page