top of page
Dvorak Slavonic Dance No. 4 cover art
  • Slavonic Dance Op. 46, No. 4

    SKU: BBBE200604

    The Slavonic Dances by Antonín Dvorak are a series of pieces originally composed for piano four hands in 1878 (Op. 46)  and 1886 (Op. 72) and were inspired by Johannes Brahms's Hungarian Dances. These are more well known as orchestral works, orchestrated by Dvořák at the request of his publisher. Here, these are expertly arranged for 11-piece brass ensemble by Michael Allen.

    Lively and full of national character, these charming dances are considered among the composer's most memorable works. Dvořák never actually quotes folk melodies, but evokes their style and spirit by using traditional rhythmic patterns and structures in keeping with traditional folk dances.

    Slavonic Dance No. 4 from Op. 46 is a sousedská, a semi-slow Bohemian dance in three quarter time and is sometimes referred to as the old peoples dance.


    • Composer

      Antonin Dvorak

    • Arranger

      Michael Allen

    • Duration

      7' 30"

    • Instrumentation

      423.11 - Trumpet in E flat, Piccolo in B flat, Trumpet in B flat, Flugelhorn, 2 Horns, 2 Tenor Trombones, Bass Trombone, Euphonium, Tuba

    • Difficulty

      Grade 4 - college/university ensemble

    • File Format

      Full score and parts in PDF available for download.


    Related Products

    bottom of page