top of page
Respighi Fountains of Rome brass ensemble cover
  • The Fountains of Rome

    SKU: BBBE220701

    The Fountains of Rome (1916) is the first of Respighi's trilogy of tone poems based on his impressions of Rome, along with Pines of Rome (1924) and Roman Festivals (1928). The tone poem Fountains of Rome, like the others, comprises four movements, each depicting iconic fountains located in different areas in the city of Rome at different times of the day.


    Originally for orchestra, Respighi also made a version for 2 pianos in 1919. Here, it is expertly and meticulously transcribed for large brass ensemble by Michael Allen.

    • Composer

      Ottorino Respighi

    • Arranger

      Michael Allen

    • Duration

      16' 00"

    • Instrumentation

      544.12 tmp perc - Piccolo Trumpet in A (alternate in B flat provided), Trumpets in E flat (alternate C Trumpat part provided), 2 Trumpets in B flat (alternate C Trumpet parts provided), Flugelhorn, 4 Horns, 3 Tenor Trombones, Bass Trombone, Euphonium (bass and treble clef parts provided), 2 Tubas (bass and contrabass preferred), Timpani & 3 Percussion

    • Difficulty

      Grade 5 - advanced college/university or professional ensemble

    • File Format

      Full score and parts in PDF available for download.


    Related Products

    bottom of page