top of page
Salome's Dance of the Seven Veils brass ensemble cover
  • Salome's Dance of the Seven Veils

    SKU: BBBE210701

    Salome, Op. 54, is an opera in one act by Richard Strauss with a libretto edited by the composer from an adaptation of the play by Oscar Wilde.

    The opera is perhaps most famous for the Dance of the Seven Veils from the final scene where Salome dances before King Herod. It is an elaboration on the New Testament story of the Feast of Herod and the execution of John the Baptist, which refers to Salome dancing before the king.

    Dance of the Seven Veils is here expertly transcribed for large brass ensemble by Michael Allen.

    • Composer

      Richard Strauss

    • Arranger

      Michael Allen

    • Duration

      10' 00"

    • Instrumentation

      444.12 tmp perc - Piccolo Trumpet in B flat, Trumpet in E flat (alternate C part provided), Trumpet in B flat (alternate C part provided), Flugelhorn (doubling B flat Trumpet), 4 Horns, 3 Tenor Trombones, Bass Trombone, Euphonium, 2 Tubas (bass and contrabass preferred), Timpani, Percussion (Glockenspiel, Xylophone, Snare Drum, Bass Drum, Cymbal, Tam-Tam, Triangle, Tambourine, Castanets)

    • Difficulty

      Grade 5 - advanced college/university or professional ensemble

    • File Format

      Full score and parts in PDF available for download.

    bottom of page