top of page
Waltzes, Opus 39 (Volume 2)
  • Waltzes, Opus 39 (Volume 2)

    SKU: BBBE120303

    Waltzes, Opus 39 is a set of 16 short waltzes composed for piano four hands (i.e. duet) in 1865. These waltzes were also arranged for piano solo by the composer, in two different versions – difficult and simplified. The three versions were published at the same time, and sold well, contrary to the composer’s expectations. The waltzes were written while the composer lived in Vienna, a city where he would permanently settle in 1872. They were intended as a tribute to the waltz dance form which had become especially fashionable in his adopted city.

    • Composer

      Johannes Brahms

    • Arranger

      Michael Allen

    • Duration

      10' 00"

    • Instrumentation

      423.11 - Trumpet in E flat, Trumpet in B flat (doubling on piccolo), Trumpet in B flat (doulbing on flugelhorn), Flugelhorn, 2 Horns, 2 Tenor Trombones, Bass Trombone, Euphonium, Tuba

    • Difficulty

      Grade 4 - college/university or professional ensemble

    bottom of page